Cover Versions

In my recent column for Songwriting Magazine, I discussed cover versions and how they can often provide artists with an interesting challenge to try something different and creative with an established song. I thought I would share song of the favourite ones that I have performed live or recorded. I’ve often covered songs that have really resonated with me or by artists I admire such as Ryan Adams, Tom Petty, Josh Rouse, Elbow, Passenger, Joni Mitchell and The Cure, OMD to name just a few.

Here’s my most recent, an acoustic version of ‘King’ by Years and Years.

Ukulele cover of The Supremes ‘Someday We’ll Be Together’

In session for WBBC and Bob Harris, singing a favourite Ryan Adams song, ‘When the Stars Go Blue’ after one of my original songs

Love singing classic songs and here’s a a live acoustic version of Kris Kristofferson’s ‘Help Me Make It Through the Night’

Love the rawness of recording a cover live. Passenger’s ‘Rolling Stone’

Elbow’s ‘My Sad Captains’

Sam Smith ‘Leave Your Lover’ acoustic version

Also really enjoy doing electronic covers including Bastille’s ‘Pompeii’ with Snapd

Finally, singing the wonderful ‘Hallelujah’ live with US artist Eve Selis

Leave a Reply

